Committees » Committees


Standing committees are established to assist with governance of the school district.  Each year, a trustee is appointed as chair of thetable.jpg business committee and of the education committee.  Committee meetings are open to the public and media. 

Meetings begin at 4:00 p.m.

Please note: 

The Board of Education committee and regular meetings will be live streamed on the district website while we respect the guidelines set out by the Public Health Authority. The Board appreciates your interest in the proceedings and if you have a question regarding an agenda item, please submit your question prior to the meeting via email to: Please include your name and affiliation or partner group and contact information. A staff member will read your question to the Board and if your question is not answered during the meeting, a written response will be provided. 


​​​​Ap​pointments for 2020
​ ​Standing Committees ​ ​Chair
​ ​Business Committee of the Whole Tracy Van Raes
​ Education Committee of the Whole ​ Barb Sheppard


Business Committee of the Whole 2020-21 - Agendas and Minutes are found below the table


​September 15, 2020
​October 13, 2020
​November 17, 2020
​December 8, 2020 - cancelled
​January 12, 2021
Click here to access the meeting
​February 9, 2021
​March 2, 2021
​April 13, 2021
​May 11, 2021
​June 8, 2021


Education Committee of the Whole 2020-21 - Agendas and Minutes are found below the table


September 16, 2020
​October 14, 2020
​November 18, 2020 
​December 9, 2020 - cancelled
​January 13, 2021
Click here to access the meeting
​March 3, 2021
​May 12, 2021
​June 9, 2021
                        Committee and Liaison Appointments December 2020-December 2021
Committee ​Committee Representatives
Budget Advisory Committee Trustee Pierre, Trustee Stathers, Trustee Van Alphen
​Indigenous Education Planning Council Trustee Clarke, Trustee Palanio (Alternate)
BCSTA Provincial Council (elected positions) Trustee Clarke, Trustee Pierre (Alternate)
​B.C. Public School Employers' Association 
Representative Council (elected positions)​
Trustee Sheppard, Trustee Van Raes (Alternate)
​Curriculum Development Advisory Committee (CDAC) Trustee Van Alphen
​DPAC Representative January - Trustee Sheppard, February - Trustee Clarke, April - Trustee Stathers, May - Trustee Van Alphen, June - Trustee Van Alphen
​Okanagan School of the Arts Trustee Clarke; Trustee Palanio (Alternate)
​Okanagan College Regional Advisory Committee Trustee Sheppard
Penticton and Wine Country Chamber of Commerce Trustee Van Raes; Trustee Palanio (Alternate)
​Compass Court Community Advisory Committee ​Trustee Van Raes
​Pro-D Committee ​Trustee Stathers
​Summerland Chamber of Commerce ​Trustee Stathers
​Summerland Child and Youth Committee ​Trustee Van Alphen
​District of Summerland Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee Trustee Stathers
​District Wellness Committee ​Trustee Clarke; Trustee Pierre (Alternate)
​Penticton Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee ​Trustee Palanio
Downtown Neighbourhood Plan Task Force (Summerland) Trustee Stathers